This website uses third party cookies to improve your experience. If you continue browsing or close this notice, you will accept their use.

About Us

The ICEDD was founded in 2011 as part of the Department of Political Science at Libera Università degli Studi Sociali (LUISS) in Rome, Italy. The center studies the democratization process in different areas of the world and also looks at other, more specific topics, such as evaluating the quality of democracy. It follows in the footsteps of the International Center for Transition Studies, established in 2002. Its research is mainly of a multi-disciplinary nature, with a special focus on political science and contemporary history. It takes a multi-method approach that is at once quantitative and qualitative, comparative and centered on individual cases.

Research is conducted by LUISS faculty members and by other scholars who are affiliated with universities both in Italy and abroad. The center is part of a wider network of international centers, all of which are dedicated to studying the democratization process.

At the moment the main areas of research are:

  • Changes of democracy in Europe
  • Economic crises and democratic quality in Europe
  • Creating a data archive on democracies
  • Democratic alternatives in Latin America
  • How to analyze political risk
  • Public policies and innovation

ICEDD organizes seminars, lectures and conferences, and publishes papers and books in which the results of its research are presented and discussed. The center also publishes the journal Ventunesimo Secolo, edited by Gaetano Quagliariello.


The ICEDD is made up as follows:


Leonardo Morlino


Giovanni Orsina

Managing Board

  • Manuel Anselmi
  • Lucia Bonfreschi
  • Domenico Bruni
  • Vera Capperucci
  • Maria Elena Cavallaro
  • Daniela Huber
  • Antonio La Spina
  • Raffaele Marchetti
  • Marcello Messori
  • Daniela Piana
  • Mario Quaranta
  • Emanuele Treglia
  • Christine Vodovar

Scientific Board

  • Leonardo Morlino (President)
  • Massimo Egidi
  • Sergio Fabbrini
  • Marcello Messori
  • Giovanni Orsina
  • Gaetano Quagliarello
  • Vladislav Zubok